The Surprising Lesson My 11-Year-Old Taught Me About Sales

After a summer spent dog walking, fish feeding, and watering neighbors' plants, my 11-year-old daughter was about to make her biggest purchase yet…

A $199 Nintendo Switch Lite + $49 Animal Crossing.

With cash in hand, we rolled up to our local game shop, ready to feed our furry digital friends.

When we got to the cashier, my daughter relayed her purchase request only to be met with a question.

“Have you considered purchasing the Joy-Con edition or the OLED version of the Switch?”

The salesperson then looked to me. I quickly reaffirmed that it was my daughter who was making the purchasing decision today.

He then proceeded to explain to her the benefits of a crisper screen and motion control movements.

Confused and a little overwhelmed, we walked out of the shop empty-handed.

What should have been a slam-dunk sale turned into an airball for all.

No immediate sale. No potential future sales. And no core memory.

On our drive home, my daughter asked, “Why didn’t he ever ask what I wanted?”

I grinned ear to ear because I knew she got it.

The essence of sales is permission, curiosity, and the evaluation of desire.

  1. Do I have permission to help you today?

  2. Do I genuinely understand what you want and value from this purchase?

  3. Do I know if your desire outweighs the price?

Bad sales violate all three. That’s why it feels slimy.

So the next time you’re selling your services, my nudge to you is to explain less and instead, ask more questions.

I am happy to report that my daughter did eventually get her purchase. A good friend heard about our mishap and came to the rescue. She bought a slightly used console at a fraction of the price. Win-win for all.

Happy selling,

PS - Wanna grow your client list without relying on social? Check out the free training here.