Long Form vs Short Form Content

Last week, two of my private clients decided to throw down in a spirited debate over the benefits of long-form vs short-form content. 

Which is better?

Last week, two of my private clients decided to throw down in a spirited debate over the benefits of long-form vs short-form content

Both had solid arguments

And both stood firm in their choice.

But what they both missed was a fundamental principle that lots of marketers overlook … intent. 

Effective marketing is driven by purpose. Whether the goal is to convert, educate, segment the audience, establish authority or something more nuanced, understanding the reason behind your marketing is key.

I can remember early in my journey, I attempted to reverse engineer my mentor’s best funnel. 

I’ll save you the two weeks and $700 I wasted and tell you that it performed dismally. 

Why you ask?

While I had successfully duplicated the strategy, what I failed to understand was its true intent.

Years later after hiring that same mentor as my private coach, I confess to my transgression. 

Amused, he explained that the funnel I had copied, hoping to use to attract leads was actually intended to segment his already large audience.

The experience taught me a valuable lesson about the importance of selecting the right tool for the job.

Most tactics you see your favorite influencer using are not applicable to your needs.

If your business is doing under $1M a year, you need simple and straightforward marketing. The least amount of variables the better. 

(I breakdown these foundations inside my free 24-page guide.)

So next time, before you rush in to emulate a marketing strategy, ask yourself …  “What is the intention of this approach and why are they using it?

If you can’t answer that, I would think twice about implementing it.

I am not advocating for copying anyone else’s marketing strategy but if you are going to study one, my best advice is find a business that is 1-2 steps ahead of your own. Look for the micro influencer not the mega. Their tactics are going to be more applicable to the level of business you have. 

Better yet, when you’re ready, invest into the right mentors. Nothing will increase your speed and save you from costly mistakes more efficiently than getting the best information catered to your specific business.

Cheers,